Posted on Thursday, January 9, 2020

New Year, More Academy Awards: Everything You Should Know

It’s a new year. And we all know what a new year means—awards season.

The 92nd Academy Awards, hosted by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, will take place at the Dolby Theatre in Hollywood on February 9, 2020, at 6:30 p.m. EST.

The Oscars nominations were announced today, January 13.

Producers Guild of America unveils nominees

The Producers Guild of America released its nominees for the 31st PGA Awards on Tuesday, January 7, 2020. Nominees include 2019’s best-produced motion pictures and TV shows. If you’re on the edge of your seat to find out who will win, the awards will be on January 18, 2020, at the Hollywood Palladium.

Missed the nominees in the motion picture category? Here they are.

The Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures

  • 1917 (Producers: Sam Mendes, Pippa Harris, Jayne-Ann Tenggren, Callum McDougall)
  • Ford V Ferrari (Producers: Pete Chernin & Jenno Topping, James Mangold)
  • The Irishman (Producers: Jane Rosenthal & Robert Deniro, Emma Tillinger Koskoff & Martin Scorsese)
  • Jojo Rabbit (Producers: Carthew Neal, Taika Waititi)
  • Joker (Producers: Todd Phillips & Bradley Cooper, Emma Tillinger Koskoff)
  • Knives Out (Producers: Rian Johnson, Ram Bergman)
  • Little Women (Producer: Amy Pascal)
  • Marriage Story (Producers: Noah Baumbach, David Heyman)
  • Once Upon a Time in Hollywood (Producers: David Heyman, Shannon McIntosh, Quentin Tarantino)
  • Parasite (Producers: Kwak Sin Ae, Bong Joon Ho)

Were the PGA nominees a preview for the Oscars lineup?

As predicted, the Oscars nominees for Best Picture mirrored the PGA nominees.

In 2018, the PGA nominated seven of the nine Oscars contenders, and in 2015, seven of the eight nominees. It’s important to note that the PGA and Oscars both use the preferential ballot for the final vote. Because both awards use the same system, it’s no surprise that the academy and guild had 21 overlapping contenders out of 30 Best Picture winners.

Here are the Oscars 2020 nominees:

Best Picture:

  • Ford v Ferrari
  • The Irishman
  • Jojo Rabbit
  • Joker
  • Little Women
  • Marriage Story
  • 1917
  • Once Upon a Time in Hollywood
  • Parasite

Lead Actor:

  • Antonio Banderas, Pain and Glory
  • Leonardo DiCaprio, Once Upon a Time in Hollywood
  • Adam Driver, Marriage Story
  • Joaquin Phoenix, Joker
  • Jonathan Pryce, The Two Popes

Lead Actress:

  • Cynthia Erivo, Harriet
  • Scarlett Johansson, Marriage Story
  • Saoirse Ronan, Little Women
  • Charlize Theron, Bombshell
  • Renee Zellweger, Judy

Supporting Actor:

  • Tom Hanks, A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood
  • Anthony Hopkins, The Two Popes
  • Al Pacino, The Irishman
  • Joe Pesci, The Irishman
  • Brad Pitt, Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

Supporting Actress:

  • Kathy Bates, Richard Jewell
  • Laura Dern, Marriage Story
  • Scarlett Johansson, Jojo Rabbit
  • Florence Pugh, Little Women
  • Margot Robbie, Bombshell

Animated Feature:

  • How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World, Dean DeBlois
  • I Lost My Body, Jeremy Clapin
  • Klaus, Sergio Pablos
  • Missing Link, Chris Butler
  • Toy Story 4, Josh Cooley

Animated Short:

  • Dcera, Daria Kashcheeva
  • Hair Love, Matthew A. Cherry
  • Kitbull, Rosana Sullivan
  • Memorable, Bruno Collet
  • Sister, Siqi Song


  • Martin Scorsese, The Irishman
  • Todd Phillips, Joker
  • Sam Mendes, 1917
  • Quentin Tarantino, Once Upon a Time in Hollywood
  • Bong Joon Ho, Parasite

Adapted Screenplay:

  • The Irishman, Steven Zaillian
  • Jojo Rabbit, Taika Waititi
  • Joker, Todd Phillips, Scott Silver
  • Little Women, Greta Gerwig
  • The Two Popes, Anthony McCarten

Original Screenplay:

  • Knives Out, Rian Johnson
  • Marriage Story, Noah Baumbach
  • 1917, Sam Mendes and Krysty Wilson-Cairns
  • Once Upon a Time in Hollywood, Quentin Tarantino
  • Parasite, Bong Joon-ho, Jin Won Han


  • The Irishman, Rodrigo Prieto
  • Joker, Lawrence Sher
  • The Lighthouse, Jarin Blaschke
  • 1917, Roger Deakins
  • Once Upon a Time in Hollywood, Robert Richardson

Best Documentary Feature:

  • American Factory, Julia Rieichert, Steven Bognar
  • The Cave, Feras Fayyad
  • The Edge of Democracy, Petra Costa
  • For Sama, Waad Al-Kateab, Edward Watts
  • Honeyland, Tamara Kotevska, Ljubo Stefanov

Best Documentary Short Subject:

  • In the Absence, Yi Seung-Jun and Gary Byung-Seok Kam
  • Learning to Skateboard in a Warzone, Carol Dysinger
  • Life Overtakes Me, Kristine Samuelson and John Haptas
  • St. Louis Superman, Smriti Mundhra and Sami Khan
  • Walk Run Cha-Cha, Laura Nix

Best Live Action Short Film:

  • Brotherhood, Meryam Joobeur
  • Nefta Football Club, Yves Piat
  • The Neighbors’ Window, Marshall Curry
  • Saria, Bryan Buckley
  • A Sister, Delphine Girard

Best International Feature Film:

  • Corpus Christi, Jan Komasa
  • Honeyland, Tamara Kotevska, Ljubo Stefanov
  • Les Miserables, Ladj Ly
  • Pain and Glory, Pedro Almodovar
  • Parasite, Bong Joon Ho

Film Editing:

  • Ford v Ferrari, Michael McCusker, Andrew Buckland
  • The Irishman, Thelma Schoonmaker
  • Jojo Rabbit, Tom Eagles
  • Joker, Jeff Groth
  • Parasite, Jinmo Yang

Sound Editing:

  • Ford v Ferrari, Don Sylvester
  • Joker, Alan Robert Murray
  • 1917, Oliver Tarney, Rachel Tate
  • Once Upon a Time in Hollywood, Wylie Stateman
  • Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker, Matthew Wood, David Acord

Sound Mixing:

  • Ad Astra
  • Ford v Ferrari
  • Joker
  • 1917
  • Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

Production Design:

  • The Irishman, Bob Shaw and Regina Graves
  • Jojo Rabbit, Ra Vincent and Nora Sopkova
  • 1917, Dennis Gassner and Lee Sandales
  • Once Upon a Time in Hollywood, Barbara Ling and Nancy Haigh
  • Parasite, Lee Ha-Jun and Cho Won Woo, Han Ga Ram, and Cho Hee

Original Score:

  • Joker, Hildur Guðnadóttir
  • Little Women, Alexandre Desplat
  • Marriage Story, Randy Newman
  • 1917, Thomas Newman
  • Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker, John Williams

Original Song:

  • I Can’t Let You Throw Yourself Away, “Toy Story 4”
  • I’m Gonna Love Me Again, “Rocketman”
  • I’m Standing With You, “Breakthrough”
  • Into the Unknown, “Frozen 2”
  • Stand Up, “Harriet”

Makeup and Hair:

  • Bombshell
  • Joker
  • Judy
  • Maleficent: Mistress of Evil
  • 1917

Costume Design:

  • The Irishman, Sandy Powell, Christopher Peterson
  • Jojo Rabbit, Mayes C. Rubeo
  • Joker, Mark Bridges
  • Little Women, Jacqueline Durran
  • Once Upon a Time in Hollywood, Arianne Phillips

Visual Effects:

  • Avengers: Endgame
  • The Irishman
  • 1917
  • The Lion King
  • Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker

How to watch the Oscars

With all of the suspense and anticipation, you may be wondering where you can watch the Oscars.

If you’re interested in watching the red carpet pre-show, it will be live-streamed on Twitter only. As for the 90-minute show, airing live from Hollywood’s Dolby Theatre, it will be available at @TheAcademy account on February 9, 2020, starting at 6:30 p.m. EST/3:30 p.m. PT.

If you have cable or streaming just isn’t for you, the Oscars will go live on ABC starting at 8 p.m. EST/5 p.m. PT on Sunday, February 9, 2020, in addition to over 225 countries across the globe.

Countdown to the awards

With speculation heating up, it’s hard not to feel impatient as we await Oscars Sunday.

Who do you think will ultimately win?

Check back after Feb. 9 for the official list of winners.